Healthy Jambalaya?

I don’t know about you guys, but today was a LONG DAY!  So, that meant dinner tonight had to be extra good.

Tonight was Chicken and Sausage Jambalaya from scratch.  I tried to make it light using a healthy recipe from Holly Clegg’s Trim and Terrific Gulf Coast Favorites.  I substituted turkey sausage for real sausage and it made it even a little bit “healthier”.

I highly recommend this cookbook, I got it as a Christmas present from my mom two years ago and just about everything I have made from it has been delicious.  One thing that I like about this recipe book is that it has a lot of Cajun food, with actual calories listed.  It is really hard to watch your calories when you can’t even find an accurate calorie count on things that are your favorite such as red beans and rice or gumbo.  It is even harder to make them “healthy”.  It is sad that most Cajun food is the antithesis of healthy food, but it is a fact.  That is a really good thing about this cookbook…it is a healthy take on old favorites!

I digress….Back to dinner!

This is what it looked like from start to finish.

Yum!

My husband loved it and I thought it was pretty darn tasty myself!  It really wasn’t hard either.  Here is a link to a similar version of the recipe I used if you want to give it a shot (it in the middle of the page)  http://www.cinnamonhearts.com/Trim&TerrificFeb04.htm

….enjoy…I did!

Leave a Reply

