New Years Day…New Years Resolutions

Yesterday, I was suffering from allergies (I believe brought on by the bonfire) therefore, I did not have the chance to blog my resolutions.  Nothing like writing them in a public forum to really make you accountable. More on that front in just a moment.

Suffering as I was, I still found the energy to make my New Years Dinner:  Cabbage and Pork Casserole, black eyed peas and Brussels sprouts.  For those of you who don’t do a New Years dinner the black eyed peas, cabbage and pork are suppose to bring: health, wealth and happiness. (I forget which is which though.  Anyone out there who knows which is which please comment on this post, it has been bothering me for several years).

All I know is that I eat: pork, cabbage and black eyed peas every New Years Day (yes, I am a superstitious person) and it has seemed to work out for me thus far!

Here is what it looked like:

Yummm!!
Cabbage Rice and Pork Casserole
Black eyed peas! (Wealth?)
Brussels Sprouts with pine nuts (for extra health this year)

After dinner, we decided to get a little exercise in by going to the Bull Creek Green Belt with the dogs for a little walk/stroll.

Eddie!
Pancho

Like I said, I was feeling kind of crappy from last nights revelry, so we only made it as far as the first waterfall and then I was done.  Looks like the water is still high though, good thing for the greenbelt.

Waterfall #1

After our little “hike” We headed home and dropped the dogs off.  I wanted to stay home, but Craig needed my help with some shopping, so we headed to the Domain and hit Macy’s for some after Christmas sales.  Craig got a couple shirts, I was glad when it was over because my allergies were going crazy.

We headed home and had leftover casserole and black eyed peas.  That was pretty much it for me though, I was wiped out!  I went to bed at like 10pm…Happy New Years to Me!

New Years Resolutions:

I believe in a fresh start and  New Years gives us all that fresh start.  It is a time to stop what you are doing and reflect upon your life by asking yourself: What can I do to improve upon my life?  So here are my thoughts upon that.

1. Blog More: Last year I received a fortune cookie that said “Look for new outlets for your own creative abilities”.  I thought nothing of it.  I have always loved to write, but other than journaling, writing papers and an occasional short story that is about all I ever did.  Then one day in the break room at work, my co-workers were talking about this blog that they read all of the time called Peanut Butter Fingers.  I was intrigued.  I had heard of blogs, but never really read one.  So, I looked it up and became fascinated by this form of journal writing. Not long after that I was reading several blogs every day.  And then it dawned on me “I could do that!”.  A co-worker showed me where to go to get a blog (Thanks Brittany) and a few tricks to doing it and before I knew it I was blogging too.  Blogging bridges my love of writing and my new hobby of photography…I really enjoy it and hope to do more in the new year.

2. Send More Greeting Cards: This is a roll over resolution from last year. I kept it up for about half of the year, but this year I plan to go all the way with it.  I know I love to get birthday and anniversary cards in the mail so I should spread the love.  It is harder than one might think because you have to plan in advance (something that does not come naturally to me) and buy the cards at least a week before the event.

3. Floss More: Sounds silly, but I don’t know anyone who flosses daily except maybe my mom.  This year I want to bring it up a notch and make my dental health a top priority.

4. Drop 15lbs: This one is going to be tough and I plan to make it the TOP  priority of 2011.  Ever since I started my job where I travel all the time I have put on about 15lbs.  It is REALLY hard impossible to eat out and eat healthy.  Plus working out is also a tall bill when you work really long days on the road.  But I have decided that the excuses must die.  I am really going to work on: eating healthy, not eating late, and exercise, exercise, exercise!  I plan to work out 6days per week until I drop this belly flab.  I even ordered a new exercise video and it will be here January 9th.  Now that I put it out there I have really got to do something about it.

5. Be more positive: I have a feeling that 2011 is going to bring a lot of changes to my life and I want to greet them with as much positivity as possible.  It doesn’t hurt to be positive, it can only help.  I am typically a glass is half empty kind of girl, but this year I want to be a glass is nearly full person.

6. Read 1 book per month. My first book is going to be Nashville Chrome by my favorite author (who I meet in 2010) Rick Bass.  I am also taking suggestions for this one…anyone?

That is it for now. Time for me to go to the gym and keep up number 4…see you lata!

Happy 2011!

Question: What are your New Years Resolutions?


2 thoughts on “New Years Day…New Years Resolutions

  1. Kara says:

    Hey girl! Enjoyed your blog! Not sure which is which on the health and wealth though! Great pictures of the food! Good luck on your resolutions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

