SXSW Part II

Yesterday, was such a blurr.  All the SXSW festivities!  All the walking!  I made it though!I have been tired and sore all day today and recovering from a sunburn,  but OH My did we have a good time yesterday!  Let me give you the run down.

Breakfast:

I started the day off with a bowl of rolled oats.  This was my first time making rolled oats and I think it came out OK.  No body died.

I added some peanut butter to mine and it was very sticky, but very good.  I have been seeing all the food bloggers eat their oatmeal this way for a long time so I was anxious to give it a go.  And I will definitely eat it again.  It took a long time to cook (20minutes) so it isn’t an everyday food for me…just on the weekends I guess.

Breakfast of Champions

Public Transportation:

Austin is not a big city…yet.  But one thing it has going for it is the new commuter rail line.  It usually just runs M-Friday, but because it is SXSW the city decided to run it this weekend.  I love taking public transportation too.  So, naturally we decided it was the best way for us to get there this year.  We arrived at the platform and bought 2 tickets.  While we waited for Cindy to join us.

She's got a ticket to ride...

And I waited patiently for the train to arrive.

These pictures don’t show it, but a LOT of people had the same idea as we did and took the train downtown.  I wouldn’t be surprised if they decided it would be worth it to run the trains every weekend.  Ridding the train was so much fun.

There's our ride!

When we exited the station we walked down to Waterloo Records to see….

The Meat Puppets

If you have never hear of the Meat Puppets then check them out when you have a chance. Most people have never hear of them before, but if you are a fan of Nirvana then you probably heard Nirvana cover some of their songs.  Anyway, I digress.  The show was outside, I think it is where my sunburn began, but Oh well it’s all for rock-n-roll right? The show was great!  Best one of the day.

Whal'in!

The set was short, I think it lasted maybe 45minutes, but it was free and no wristband.  Let me take this opportunity to explain about badges and wristbands and the SXSW experience.

If you have a wristband you get preference to get into a show over someone without a wristband.  If you have a badge then you trump a wristband person and can get into a show before them.  For example:  If I don’t have a wristband then i have to wait for people with badges and people with wristbands  to get in to a show before me.  I can stand in line and be the next person to be let in a club, but if a wristband or a badge person walks up then they get priority over me.  It is a bit elitist in my book, but those are the SXSW rules and if you go then you have to abide by them.  But not having them was not an issue for this show, we got right in and were able to walk straight up to the front.

After the show, we walked clear across downtown to the Luster Pearl to see a band that I really wanted to see…

Okkervil River

Okkervill River is a local band that I really like.  We had to wait in this line to see them.

Non-badge line

The guy in the red shirt was a big fan too!  He was stressing too because by the time we made it up to the front of the line out of nowhere all of these people with badges came up and got to go in ahead of us.  It was very frustrating.  We did get in though.

The show was great as well.  We had a blast!  Craig stood in the shadows while Cindy and I stood in the sun.  I think this is where I really started to get my sunburn.

Cindy took this shot…

It is the tree that didn’t really shade us.  But it is a Purdy Picture!

After Okkervil River we headed all the way across downtown again and the all then down South Congress….It was quite the hike.  Very scenic.

And we walked some more…until we got to our destination which was the Hotel San Jose to see…

The Black Angels

The Black Angels are a psychedelic rock band.  For some reason the song Shiny Boots of Leather by the Velvet Underground comes to mind when I try  to describe The Black Angels.  Their psychedelic rock bled over into my photos too, this was all I could get:

Very strange how all of these photos came out so “trippie”?

About halfway through their set the day caught up with me and I declared that I was done and it was time to go home.  Cindy had to go to the bathroom and and I took this photo of Craig while we waited for her.

Artie

isn’t it?

After that we walked across the bridge again and all then through downtown to catch the train again.  By the time we got home I could barely feel my feet anymore.  But it was all worth it!  I declare SXSW a success this year!

Leave a Reply

