Metro Rail Date Night

Austin’s Capital Metro Rail typically is just a commuter rail and only runs during commuter hours.  But this Friday Metro Rail decided to test it out on a regular old Friday night to see how the patronage would be.  So, Craig and I decided to be supportive of this endeavor by Capital Metro and take the train downtown for a Friday Night Date Night; Craig and I don’t  have a designated “date night” per say.  We are with each other all the time.  But it is nice to designate a special night and go out on the town.

When we arrived at the station we realized that were a little early, so we had to wait for a little while.

A Desperado waiting for the train

But before long it arrived and we hoped on and rode a rather packed car downtown.

Me and C on the train.

Can I say that I really enjoy taking the train. It always makes me  feel so metropolitan too! Like I really do live in a BIG city.  It is so relaxing to not have to drive or worry about parking.  Plus it is a smooth ride and takes about 25min.  It takes me that long to drive down there, let alone park.

The city was all bursting with energy.  I snapped this shot of the Frost Bank before the sun went down.

I also snapped this one too…as we walked along to dinner.

The Thirsty Nickel and Maggie Mae's

I didn’t take a picture of the name of the restaurant we ate at, but it is the Vietnamese and Thai restaurant on 6th.  I’m sure you know the one I am talking about 🙂

Craig and I shared some egg rolls.

Since it is lent I had the Shrimp Pad Thai

Yum!

And then I felt like I was an extra special good girl this week so I treated myself to a bowl of Chocolate Blue Bell  Ice Cream.

OH Yhea! I deserve this!

After dinner, Craig and I walked around downtown while we waited for the train.  We ended up on a rooftop deck on 6th street.

I also got another good shot of the Frost Bank at night.

Night

Which do you think is cooler?  Frost by night?  Or Frost by day?  Please leave a reply below.

Day

After a few cocktails we headed back to the station and caught the train up to North.  Coincidently, the train was so completely full and even had some people standing up all the way North.  Maybe they will extend the hours.  Would be nice if they did.  That way I could feel metropolitan all the time.

4 thoughts on “Metro Rail Date Night

  1. Shelby says:

    I think the frost by night is cooler, cuz of the lights and night scape background. It just lights up the sky and street. Kinda like vegas, it really looks better and more exciting at night. 🙂

    That pad thai looked amazing. I haven’t had good egg rolls in so long too…

Leave a Reply

