Something to Celebrate/ SafePlace

Yesterday, we got some very exciting news.  Craig got a new job!  I am so happy for him and us I just don’t know what to do with myself.  So, in true celebration fashion we decided that we deserved a dinner out.

Me and C all gussied up

Ya know nothing says celebration to me quite like sushi. And nothing says celebratory sushi like a fancy sushi place.  We selected Mikado in North Austin as the scene of the crime.

Mikado

We were super early for dinner, so the restaurant was a little empty.  FACT: Craig and I eat dinner super early like 5:30 PM.  We try to catch happy hour sushi and early bird specials…OK we are like old people too.

I selected the crab rolls for an appetizer. And they were super delicious.  All gooey in the middle and the mustard sauce highlighted the flavor of that plus the fried batter.

Crab Puffs

For our entrees I selected the Hottie Susan roll, the Philadelphia roll, the Spider roll and the Rainbow roll.  Admittedly, that is a lot of food, but OH MY GOSH I was hungry!!!

Rainbow in the front/ Hottie in the back

It was extra delicious to me because I haven’t had sushi since May (before I got my Old Lady Gall Bladder taken out).  I remember it like it was yesterday.

Before I break out in a chorus of Memories by Barbra Streisand I will stop myself because no one needs to hear that.

So that leads me to something else I want to talk about….

SafePlace

A long, long, long, long time ago I decided that I wanted to be a volunteer at SafePlace, a domestic violence shelter for women, men and transgender individuals.  I made a commitment, but I really had no idea what I was getting myself into.

After you go to orientation there is a forty (yes 40) hour training session that all volunteers must attend before they can actually begin working.  There is also an application that you must fill out that includes 3 references and a background check.  Additionally, there is a one hour interview that accompanies all of the above.  That is a LOT of stuff just to be a volunteer; I’ve had jobs with less training.  But now that I am doing the forty hour training I really do understand why all of that is necessary.

I was so naive about this subject and I thought I knew so much.  But I am learning, I am learning and every day is a difficult day because there is just so much to learn and absorb about this topic.  I went today and we learned about why victims stay in the situation or return to the situation.  It was very eye opening.  We also had a survivor come and tell us her story – which was so powerful I teared up several times.  I will not give any of the details of that story because it was told in confidentiality, but I will say that it was the most horrific story I have ever heard.

I am telling you all of this because it has brought up so many emotions in me that I can’t even put into words.  I am conflicted as to what to even share on this blog.  I feel like I am taking this great journey and you are coming with me.

Have you ever been a volunteer?  What did you do?  How did it affect you?

Leave a Reply

