Checking in

What has been going on with you?  I’ve been keeping myself pretty busy trying to “improve myself”.   No, I didn’t get lost in the self-help section of Barnes and Nobel, I’ve just been trying to improve myself a little bit each day.  Baby steps.

I’ve been working out for the last two weeks, six days a week.  This is some kind of record for me- somebody call Guinness!  I am really hoping this habit will stick.   I, of course, am working out to lose weight, but I also am working out to have more energy.   I have this other goal of actually running a 5k.

                                                                        source

Right now I am working on just 1mile; I can run around the track 2 1/2 times, which equals 2.5/10 of a mile.   I run other laps as well, but I am bragging about the 2.5 I run consecutively.  Running that little bit is really hard for me…I literally feel the air being sucked out of my lungs as I struggle forward with each step.  I am not an athlete, but I want to be one.  I will keep you posted on that.

The other big thing I have been doing that has eaten a lot of my time up is writing.  I am now writing everyday for at least an hour.  Noticed I said writing and not blogging?  Yes, when  I write it takes a lot of time and energy away from the blog.  I am hoping this is just a temporary thing because I love to blog, but it does take a lot of time and energy.  So, if you don’t see me here then it is because I am poring my heart out elsewhere.  What am I writing?  Right now it is just a journal, but I am hoping to make it into something more with time.  I am starting to see characters coming out of it and also a flow that I am really enjoying.  I’ll keep you posted on that as well.

I’ve also been doing some career soul searching.  The thing is I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up and it is time I found out.  I am reading this book right now called What color is your Parachute?  It is about job searching and it is also about career soul searching (OK so maybe I did get lost in the self-help section of Barnes and Nobel, but only for a little while).  I highly recommend reading it if you too are lost in a grown-up world and still have a little kid’s confusion about what you want to be when you grow up.  I will do a review post on it when I am done reading it.

So, that is what I have been up to this past week, soul searching, working out and writing.

What about you?  What are you doing to “improve yourself”?

Leave a Reply

